The museum is located at the Minnetonka Resort and preserves some of the Keweenaw’s rarest and most unique artifacts. Relive history through relics of the earliest known settlers and browse mining tool displays from the copper boom days of the mid-1800’s. The museum houses an exquisite collection of over 400 antique dolls from across the globe and much more.
SE Corner of Gratiot (US-41) & 6th Streets
Website || 906-289-4449
A multiple generational school, Copper Harbor’s one-room schoolhouse is one of the of the oldest in Michigan — and is also the farthest north. Established in 1850, the school is still active with an average of 6-12 students attending each year. The school district’s motto is “Searching For Knowledge” and the mascot of the schoolhouse is the Copper Harbor Prospectors. Interestingly, the local copper mining families were originally responsible for funding and creating this school, and their efforts were clearly not in vain.
By the early 1900’s, the heart of the area’s mining operations had migrated further south to those at Calumet and Hecla and Quincy regions. Around that time, a new industry – tourism – was emerging. The National Park system, urbanization and mass production of affordable automobiles contributed to more families traveling on vacations. With plans developed by the Keweenaw County Road Commission – and with funding acquired from the Michigan Civilian Conservation Corps – construction began in 1933, increasing the Road Commission’s employment ten-fold. Upon completion, the “county highway quickly became one of the most popular motoring destinations in the Midwest,” wrote historian LeRoy Barnett. What’s more, with more than one million visitors within the first five years of opening, Brockway Mountain was credited for sparking the area’s tourism boom.
And most fortunately Brockway has stood the test of time, as Brockway Mountain Drive remains the most popular vacation destination in Copper Harbor. Making your way to the top is hands down a MUST DO while in the Keweenaw Peninsula.
Listed as a Michigan State Historic Site, the Copper Harbor Cemetery is located southwest of downtown Copper Harbor on US 41 just west of M-26. Burials dating as far back as 1853 may be found, as well as present day burials. Nestled under the high bluff of Brockway Mountain, this most scenic and quaint cemetery is a special, timeless place.
Now a part of the Keweenaw County Historic Society Museum Complex, Central was settled around the Central Mining Company in 1854. It’s population went from 1,300 in 1887 to 100 in 1905. Many of the residence exteriors have been restored and a visitors center provides interpretive exhibits about Central. There are two walking paths, a memorial garden, and three building open to visitors. Self-guided walking tour maps are available at the Visitor Center. The site is open year round. Please respect the privacy of dwelling occupants. The Visitor Center is open early June to mid-October from 10 am to 5 pm. Learn more about Central and Ghost Towns.
The Delaware Mine is an authentic mine that operated from 1847 until 1887, during the country’s first major mining boom. The mine was supported by a group of investors, including Horace Greeley. Although the mine didn’t make any money for its investors, it now serves as the perfect example of what the mines in this area were like in the 1800’s. Visitors to the Delaware Mine walk down 100 feet of stairs through the #1 shaft to the first level of the mine, then walk approximately 1700 feet through the original workings to experience a self-guided tour. The length of time the tour takes depends on the visitors’ interest level. Above ground are trails taking visitors past the ruins of two original mine buildings, equipment displays, antique engines, trains and animals. Picnic facilities are available, both above and below ground. A gift shop featuring locally made mementos and rock and mineral specimens is also available. Our very special pets are also featured in the gift shop. The Delaware Mine offers a very unique combination of entertainment and education that will intrigue every member of the family.
Website | 906-289-4688 | US-41 – 10 miles south of Copper Harbor
An exciting living museum with a fully reconstructed fort, several walking trails, picnic, and playground area, gift shop, and camping. The mixed woods and lake make it a great spot for bird watching too. You can feel the history as you walk by Michigan’s early mine sites at the fort and lighthouse with their interpretive guides.
In an effort to protect its interests of the new found copper boom, the U.S. government established Fort Wilkins in 1844 to oversee Copper Harbor’s Mineral Land Agency (the “Government House” that issued exploration permits and land leases) and to maintain law and order. The military outpost was a typical stockade frontier fort that only operated until 1846 until the U.S. war with Mexico required the garrison be replaced and shipped to the warfront. Following the Civil War in 1867, the post was re-occupied by US soldiers to serve out their enlistments until it was permanently abandoned by the government in 1870. Fort Wilkins became a State Park in 1923 and is today open to visitors as an interpretive look into its historic past.
Website | 906-289-4215 | About 1 mile east of Copper Harbor proper
In 1853 the Clark Mining Company was formed and began work on a small copper vein located approximately 3 miles southeast of Copper Harbor. Mining continued off and on under multiple property owners until 1902. Eight shafts and three adits compose the mine and the smokestack of the mine’s powerhouse still remains at this historic site. Copper crystals in and on the prehnite are sought after remnants by rock hounds, while many other minerals have been reported in this locality.